Kemp Graphic Design

If you know me or read my about page, you’d know that I am a graphic designer and I’ve been making digital artwork for about a year and a half. I run an Instagram account called Kemp_graphic_design, where I post all of my artwork. My style has evolved over time, and in this post, I want to showcase and analyze my styles over the course of running kemp_graphic_design.

Three Color Portraits

jcole3color

The first style of artwork I made was three color portraits. I had learned how from my freshman mixed media class and after the first assignment, I kept on making and posting them. They consist of three colors, and I usually made them with abstract colors. I’ve made portraits of J. Cole (above), Brad Pitt, Uma Thurman, Samuel L. Jackson, Drake, Quentin Tarantino, Frank Sinatra, and Notorious B.I.G.

Simple Portraits

Tylerthecreator2.jpg

This is the style of portrait that takes up a large space of my instagram feed. Above is the first simple portrait of many that I have made. Yes it’s Tyler the Creator. I didn’t learn this style from anywhere, I I would take a picture of a person and trace their head shape and sample their average skin tone. Then I would find where the harshest shadows are and make a black shape there, and then I would trace the simple facial features. It was super crude but it was how I started drawing faces. Eventually, my simple portrait style evolved to a clean, crisp cartoon. People started to notice my account, too. Rocketjump, the VFX YouTube channel, posted some fan art I did of their YouTube series on their Instagram.

rocketjumpsc.JPG

Evolved Simple Portrait

About a year ago, I got bored of doing the simple portraits, I wanted to evolve some more. bilzeriansc.JPG

Don’t pay attention to the guy it’s of, but I wanted my portraits to look a little more realistic. So I messed around with different shadows and making the person look a little less cartoon-y and caricatured. After I posted this, as you see in the comments, people started asking me to draw them. My DM’s on Instagram were never empty after I posted this.

Digital Paintings

I still thought my portraits looked a little flat and simple. So one day when I was sick, I found a picture of The Fat Jewish and tried to make a super detailed portrait, while still staying true to my style. I made this.

fatjewishscreenshot-1.jpg

I got more likes on it than anything else on my page. And I got an email from the design company that designs for Fat Jewish that they wanted me to make a new profile pic for him. Here’s a collage of that. fatjewishcollage-01 copy.jpg

Low Poly Portrait

My favorite and current style on my Instagram is the low poly portrait, where I make a portrait entirely out of one colored tiny triangles. I’ve been making low poly portraits since last summer. It takes a really long time to make them, sometimes I’ve spent 12 work hours on them. jynerso low poly (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (1) (2) (1)-01.jpgOn the one above of Jyn Erso from Rogue One, there are over 5600 triangles, each is a different color. They are extremely time consuming but I love how they look in the end.

I’m glad I got the chance to showcase some of my designs. Digital art and design is a large part of my life.  I hope to be doing this in the future. 

One thought on “Kemp Graphic Design

Leave a Reply

