The Last Day of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival

On Saturday February 11, I had the privilege of attending the last day of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival, both as an audience member and as a participant.

If you read my last post, you’d know that I worked on a film called ‘I Feel Fine’ in the 10-10-10 contest. On Saturday, ‘I Feel Fine’ and the nine other films in the contest were shown. It was a blast, and some of my friends’ films were terrific. Emily, our director, and Claire, our screenwriter, both won the best high school filmmaker and best high school screenwriter awards. We were ecstatic about it. Christopher Lloyd and Aija Mayrock presented the award, and Mayrock gave an awesome speech about following your dreams and pursuing the career you want. Mayrock won the screenwriting competition in 10-10-10 back in 2011. She then wrote a book, “The Survival Guide to Bullying” and became a renown teen writer. Christopher Lloyd is Doc Brown, say no more.

film festival-01.jpg

Emily and Claire had a few interviews, and I waited in front of the stage and talked to a few people. After Emily and Claire finished their interviews we all hung out a for a little while, took some pictures on the red carpet in front of the long SBIFF banner and out on the street in front of the Arlington Theater. File_000 (3).jpeg

I ran into the festival’s director Rodger Durling on the way to the car. My dad knows him, I hadn’t met him before. We talked for a little while, and he told me he thought the 10-10-10 films were great, and he really liked ours. I went home, ate dinner, the  and then read a text that I missed earlier that afternoon from my friend Sharp.sharptext.jpg

Guess I wasn’t done at the film festival.

My dad rushed me back downtown to the Arlington. He dropped me off and I found Sharp. Sharp gave me his extra pass, and we breezed by the hundreds of people waiting in line for tickets. I saw the star of the movie, Bill Nighy on the red carpet. The movie was called “Their Finest” and it was about the film industry in WWII England, and how most films had to be propaganda films to help promote the war and keep national spirits high. It was a great film and I recommend it to anyone interested in another side of WWII.

After the film was over, and with it, the festival, Sharp’s dad, Brett gave me a ride home in his Tesla Model S. We talked about SF MoMA and how modern art is crap, and before I knew it, I was home.

I had an awesome experience at the film festival, and I hope I get to go again next year.

Leave a Reply

